Band Guild

What does the Band Guild do?

The mission of the Band Guild is to serve and support our students’ musical development.  This group plans events which heighten our children's love of music.  The Band Guild also works to raise money for many important functions, including the purchase and maintenance of musical instruments, financial assistance for students wanting to participate in band, and entrance fees and travel costs for events.

April 4, 2024 Band Guild Meeting Minutes  Bilingual

December 5, 2023 Band Guild Meeting Minutes

October 3, 2023 Band Guild Meeting Minutes

February 2 2023 Band Guild Meeting Minutes

December 2022 Band Guild Meeting Minutes    En Espanol

October 2022 Band Guild Meeting Minutes       En Espanol

May 2022 Band Guild Meeting Minutes

SKDS Band Guild Guidelines

The Beat Goes On

Band Guild Meetings

All Band Families are members of the Band Guild. Please consider attending the Band Guild meetings to help keep our program strong!

Band is part of the curriculum.  Band is open to any students in grades 5 thru 8! Band offers students the opportunity to learn to read music and play an instrument in a band setting. This is a yearlong commitment. The SKDS band participates in the Beaver Dam Memorial Day parade and the Columbus 4th of July parade. The cost for band includes Band Guild dues, lesson fees and instrument rental (rental amount will vary by instrument). Band students also may apply for up to $150 summer camp scholarship. Parents are responsible for attending three Band Guild meetings during the year, transportation to some events, Concerts, Parade of Bands, Festival of Music, Memorial Day Parade and 4th of July Parade. Parent support is also required to help with the Pancake Breakfast/Silent Auction. More detailed responsibilities will be provided at the first Band Guild meeting. Please contact Kim Lopas with any questions or send an email to  

2023-2024 Band Guild Executive Board

President - Vicki Hafenstein
Vice President - Laura Weinman
Treasurer - Allison Wells
Secretary - Marybeth Schessow
Members At-Large - Kristin Adsit and Janie Garcia